Villa Caramel-the love-it or-hate-it book I wrote for fun

VILLA CARAMEL - font2 - FINAL

As I sit on a terrace in Antibes on the French Riviera in mid-October and watch the evening sky turn turquoise with orange and pink streaks from the setting sun, sipping rosé  and-okay-flicking through reviews of my books on my phone, I reflect on this  book that I wrote about twelve years ago.

I remember how, at the time, I had this idea to write a spoof, or romantic comedy, if you like, poking a little fun at both the romance genre and the European Union and the ins and outs of this huge organisation. I saw it up close and personal during my eleven years of being a EU wife, and felt I needed to demystify and perhaps even reveal some of the corruption and the sometimes ridiculous events I witnessed. It became Villa Caramel .

Feeling that Brussels was not quite the romantic setting,or even that interesting, I moved the whole cast to St Tropez, where the characters in my story would continue networking, flirt, wine and dine while falling in and out of love under the hot sun of the south of France.

I piled it all in: glamour, fashion, food and wine, sun, sand and sex,laced with my own brand of humour. Eva, the straight-laced but boring (according to some reviews) career woman with her two slutty (again,according to reviews) step-daughters mingle with the jet-set and the hot men they meet.

I had a lot of fun writing it. I never for an instant meant it to be serious or meaningful.

Reviews have been- mixed. But that’s life- and writing. You can’t please all the people all the time.

I’m only happy if I pleased some of my readers… from time to time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanna (Lazuli Portals Trilogy)
    Mar 21, 2016 @ 16:06:21

    I think a book that was fun to write will often be fun to read … the enjoyment simply spills over into the writing. 😉 I bet your readers were pleased you chose St Tropez over Brussels, too!

    I found your post via the #TalkoftheTown linkup. 🙂

    Reply

    • Susanne O'Leary
      Mar 21, 2016 @ 18:17:45

      Thank you, Joanna! Yes my readers loved the St Tropez setting. Much more fun than Brussels! i have since written three further novels set in St Tropez, which have been very popular.

      Reply

  2. Heidi - @Cosmochicklitan
    Mar 24, 2016 @ 15:55:50

    I am always interested in finding out the reasons/backgrounds behind a book, so thanks for sharing :-). I love St. Tropez settings (transports me to a different world straight away). Thanks for linking up to #TalkoftheTown.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Book for netgalley review

