When Batman Meets Robin- OMG I’m doing it again!

batman

 

When I saw my long-time online author friend Pete Morin’s blog post about how he is looking for a co-author to work on his next project, I just skimmed the post, hoping he’d find someone who could match his quirky, snappy, funny style. I didn’t, for even a nano second, imagine that I would fit into that picture or that he would want me to work on a mystery with him. I even told him how it had worked for me and Ola Zaltin, when we wrote Virtual Strangers and its sequel, Virtual Suspects, two murder mysteries set in cyberspace and described how we had worked together.

Pete, who I met virtually on Authonomy way back when we still had illusions about getting that BIG publishing deal,  is the author of the excellent Diary of Small Fish, a legal thriller set in Boston, about which I said:  This novel has all the ingredients of a great read; an endearing main character, an intriguing plot, a compelling love story and a wry humour that makes you laugh out loud at times. Pete Morin manages to draw the reader into the story on the very first page and you bond with the people in it very quickly.The writing is so good I found myself trying to read slowly to make it last longer. I am looking forward to more books of the same calibre by this author. Little did I know that the next novel would be co-written with me. Life is funny.

As I said, I never thought I’d co-author again. After finishing Virtual Suspects and its sequel, I went back to writing romantic fiction, producing the very popular Hot Property, closely followed by Hot Gossip and now the soon to be published Hot Pursuit, also set in County Kerry, Ireland.

Being idle, not really thinking much about what I’d do next I was fooling around with the plot of a new romantic comedy  series while waiting for the final edits.Then  I saw Pete’s blog post. We chatted a bit and I threw him a few ideas.  Then it kind of grew and grew and before I knew it, we had agreed to work together on a project that will be, I feel, unique. How could it not? Boston lawyer and diplomat’s wife-turned novelist. Crime writer versus chick-lit author. Chalk and cheese. Abbot and Costello. Jeff and Mutt. Maybe our combo will be one of those? Who knows? But it will be a lot of fun while we write, I’m very sure of that. Life’s to short not to try something different.

I don’t know how this will turn out. But I do know that working with Pete will stretch me and challenge me. I might even get to ride in the Batmobile….

batmobile

 

P.S. As I don’t want to disappoint my romantic comedy readers, I will also be working on a new romance at the same time. Multitasking is second nature to me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becca
    May 14, 2014 @ 23:16:02

    Congratulations on the new venture, Susanne and Pete! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Donna Fasano
    May 15, 2014 @ 01:04:54

    This sounds like such fun! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

