A new (ad)venture- or just a comeback.

books

I have just set up an author page on Facebook. I have resisted this move for a long time but now I feel I’m ready. The reason for this is that I recently went back to writing romantic fiction after a long time. I took a little break while I wrote two historical novels, A Woman’s Place and Sonja’s Place and my two virtual detective/romantic suspense novels, Virtual Strangers and Virtual Suspects.

The historical novels are based on the lives of my great-aunt and her daughter, whose life stories were so moving, I just had to write about them. The detective stories were such fun and such a great adventure, co-writing with the amazing Ola Saltin, a well-known Swedish script writer. Those experiences helped me grow as a writer and I believe my writing is now so much better and deeper because I had to really work hard to write in other genres.

I discussed my writing recently with a friend. She told me I my writing should be more ‘commercial’, more ‘popular’ in order to sell. She said the ‘zeitgiest’ out there is what I have to plug into.

But no, I can’t. Because that’s not why I write. I feel I have to be true to myself and not glance sideways or upwards and then write to suit the market, whatever that is. I have to stay true to those who read my books and like them. If that is a very small circle, so be it. I write from my heart and my experiences. My observations of people and my surroundings. Little things fire off ideas. Landscapes, light, nature, sounds, smells, fun dialogue, great one-liners and quirky characters. All of that make up the fabric of my stories.

I’m happy if anyone likes to read what I write.

(and if you ‘like’ my author page, you will find out what all of this is about)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. danholloway
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 18:43:40

    you know my thoughts on twisting one’s writing to try to fit the market. Good for you, and happy to be a fan of your page – as I am of you!

    Reply

  2. susannefromsweden
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 18:47:28

    Thank you so much, Dan!

    Reply

  3. Shani Struthers
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 20:41:05

    Love it – stay true to yourself! I didn’t actually realise you’ve written so many books Susanne! I have Hot Property on my Kindle tho, waiting to be read very soon. xxx

    Reply

  4. susannefromsweden
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 20:43:22

    I’m reading yours right now, Shani and really enjoying.Yes, my 12th novel will be published soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

