Why self Publishing is Perfect for Me

best

I’m impatient, pushy, short tempered and a high maintenance woman. And those are my good points… Oh, and I forgot to say ‘control freak’…

As a published author, I’ve had several agents. If an agent/author relationship is like a marriage, I’ve been married and divorced three times. And all those divorces were my own doing.

But my last agent ( yes, he will truly be my last) and I parted on very friendly terms, so I don’t count that as a ‘divorce’, more like waving goodbye to a dear friend who had my best interests at heart and busted his gut to get me a book deal. He nearly succeeded several times. And was even more upset than me when the deals fell through. Held my hand when I was so devastated. Encouraged me to keep writing.

He was also instrumental in my discovery of the self-publishing e-book market that turned out to be such a perfect fit for me. In fact, when he first suggested it, I threw up my hands in horror. “Self publishing?” I cried, “e-books? How could you suggest such a thing?”

Then I looked around. Sniffed  and searched all over the Internet. And discovered that there was a whole new world out there. That other authors were doing very well, some spectacularly so.

I also discovered the fantastic creative freedom self-publishing brings. The camaraderie between self-published authors. The wealth of experience and the generous sharing of tips and knowledge of the craft of writing.

I started self publishing three years ago. Since then, I have learned more about writing than during the previous ten years working with editors at publishing houses. I have learned to format my own books.  I have grown as a writer and found such joy and challenge in being my own boss.

Now that I’m poised to publish my 11th novel, which will be my 7th self publishing experience, I’d like to say a huge thank you to those who have encouraged and helped me get to the place I am now. First of all to that agent, Bill Jeffrey. Then to my writer friends and colleagues. My beta readers, who  go to enormous time and trouble to give me feedback on my work. And finally, most of all my readers who, in their many thousands, keep reading and enjoying my books.

(I might add that self-publishing is a little like going out in only your underwear; scary, chilly but oh-so liberating)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alexander McNabb (@AlexanderMcNabb)
    May 05, 2013 @ 16:54:28

    Amen.

    🙂

    Reply

  2. Kristie Leigh Maguire
    May 05, 2013 @ 17:12:18

    I’m so with you on the self-publishing road, Susanne. I went with a few small houses when I first started my writing and publishing career but it didn’t take me long to realize that it would be best for me to do it all myself. I have no regrets on becoming an Indie Author.

    Reply

  3. susannefromsweden
    May 05, 2013 @ 17:18:45

    Thank you for your comment, Kristie. No regrets for me, only a very good feeling.

    Reply

  4. Tom Winton
    May 05, 2013 @ 21:20:27

    I hear you well, Susanne! I am so finished looking for agents. Terrific post.

    Reply

  5. Jo Skehan
    May 06, 2013 @ 05:11:59

    perhaps there is hope for my books yet….thank you Susanne for the inspiration. xx

    Reply

  6. Pam Howes
    May 06, 2013 @ 11:57:10

    So with you on this, Susanne. The freedom can’t be beaten. And the feeling of being in control is wonderful. 🙂 xx

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Oh, So It Is Only An E-Book? | The Ranting Papizilla

Leave a Reply

Book for netgalley review

