How I really feel about BAD reviews!!!!!

When I get bad reviews, I just shrug them off. It’s part of being an author and everyone gets them, I say. Then I go into my room, lock the door and I go through several stages:

Stage one:

stage two

                                                                Stage three:

                                                                   Stage four;

Finally, stage five, writing again in the ‘I’ll show the bastards’-mode:

Thank goodness for the writing addiction.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heikki Hietala
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 20:35:59

    I bet there’s a space for a little champagne between stages four and four (which probably is five)?

    Reply

  2. susannefromsweden
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 20:41:21

    Nah, I’d go for Koskenkorva.

    Reply

  3. Sara Reine
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 20:48:50

    Haha, too perfect! My feelings involve a lot more wine, though.

    Reply

  4. Erin Jamison
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 21:10:55

    Number 2 looks like books I used to enjoy as a kid. I can’t think of the name though…hazards of becoming an old timer. I feel your pain Susanne. Just try to remember that they called The Bodyguard the movie the worst movie ever and it wasn’t….it was good!

    Reply

  5. susannefromsweden
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 21:26:03

    I should have put in the wine- it does help.

    Reply

  6. Nike Chillemi
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 21:27:54

    I love your stages of rejection. LOL

    I have a fantasy. I throw all people off the roof that irk me. I’ve got quite a pile up in my backyard. By now everyone I know has gone off the roof at least once. I’ve even jumped off a few times. LOL

    Reply

  7. aj vosse
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 21:28:07

    Thanks… it’s good to get something else of positive intent today! 😉

    Reply

  8. Melinda Clayton
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 21:37:51

    LOL! Yep, that about covers it. 🙂

    Reply

  9. VH Folland
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 09:06:02

    So true! You’ve covered it nicely, with the possible adition of ice cream or alcohol to get through the stages.

    Reply

  10. M M Bennetts
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 10:17:13

    Thank you for this. I needed it.

    Reply

  11. susannefromsweden
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 10:21:23

    Seems to strike a chord with many…

    Reply

  12. Jo Skehan
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 11:40:10

    Susanne, I can imagine how it feels as I think any criticism of what we do personally, hurts. It’s a shame that some are so insensitive to the feelings of others and feel the urge to voice their dislike or disagreement so loudly.
    Good for you, getting your books published. At times I doubt the publishers and agents really ‘know’ what the readers out there want anyway judging by some of the books on the stores’ shelves.
    Keep writing and keep smiling.
    Luv and hugs, Jo

    Reply

  13. your friend, Carlos
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 22:22:33

    Now, now… You’ll be fine. One solution that works well, I find, is not to publish.

    Reply

  14. jennifer o.
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 02:45:58

    Hi, I just started reading your Virtual Strangers…I’d read a great review of it on Al’s books and then somone posted a link on facebook….anyhow, it’s great. I’m loving how the characters compartmentalize their lives…so many of us do that with no reflection until the worlds collide and there’s hell to pay.

    Reply

  15. susannefromsweden
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 09:23:38

    Hi Jennifer,

    Thanks for your comments about the book. I’m glad you like it. It seems many people feel like you about it.

    Reply

  16. Trackback: Write to Reply? | Fashion Trendy
  17. Charli Denae
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 07:45:25

    Reblogged this on Words Are My Life . . . and commented:
    I thought this said it all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

